Cisco VPN Client maybes

If you also has a Cisco VPN Client V.4.6.01.0019 you might have been anoyed about it quite often.

Get connected to VPN:

This is seldom a problem. I always start with a shutdown PC.
When I boot I can either connect to VPN before logging on or after logging on.

Usually I have to for the VPN client to appear before I logon (when I am not connecting to VPN first or sit inside the intranet). Otherwise windows sometimes stops! Yes – no further accepting input.

Breaking without moving:

If I hibernate the PC, it closes the VPN and the network.
When wakening the PC:

  • Ether Exit the running disconnected VPN by rightclicking the VPN in the notification area in the taskbar.
  • Or Reconnect to VPN. Network drives needs to be reconnected. Can be done just be selecting the drives in Explorer.

Disconnecting from VPN (wanting to keep the internet connection):

Before I disconnect then I can connect to Fixed Ethernet (If I was only on WLAN). Then I will keep Internet connection even though VPN is disconnected.

If I sit on only WLAN and disconnect then I also loose the internet connection! Rrrrr. (Maybe the above “exit VPN” will make a difference?)
After boot then connect to VPN before logon. This will fail since the internet connection is gone.
Now do logon. Magic: Hopefully Internet is back! 

Ignore the two suggestions above. Way to go is: Before disconnecting from VPN then use a browser and browse an internet site i.e. wordpress.com.
While keeping the browser open do disconnect from VPN. Now you continuesly will be able to browse on the internet.

Good luck.

Leave a Reply

