BarCampCopenhagen 2008 visit

So maybe this time I’ll get hooked.

With the hope to start to get to know somebody that I could stick together and speek geeky with, I visited BarCampCopenhagen (FB).

I never really became a geek mysellf, but mostly I’ve just been a wannabe. What I mean is that I never really became a productive programmer in my sparetime. I’m a morning person and falls asleep before my kids, so it can be difficult to keep the passion up at night. Usually I only get to read some books…

Now this camp should reboot me and restart the passion. And hopefully it did – at least still now. Time will show.


Kim Bach (FB), who currently is a consultant at my job, introduced me to the camp.It was a wish that newcommers should give a 20 min speech. When I went home and thought about it, I thought about talking about making a group, who could use the possibilities of Facebook by writing some interesting apps. Later on I got the impression that the speaker list was full, so I didn’t continue on the thinking.

The day before the camp Kim asked me if I could do a speech in the geeky track, and I thought – well at least I could try. But first when I arrived at the camp (two hours early), I sat down and startet writing that Presentation. In it: Too little thinking, too little research and no experiments. It was simply too thin, so I got cold feet and stayed out of the speekers list.

Now I have the chance to do something about it now by getting started with something. Maybe that was a kick.


There were two tracks: Geeky and Kængu. Kængu meaning non-geeky.Speaker 1 at Geeky: Troels.Wittrup(at)gmail.com [FB], Beaconware. Troels was the first guy I met at the place. He seemed to be smiling all the time. Always happy.

He explained how to go from AJAX -> HIJAX -> indirect AJAX.

And what was that all about? Well I din’t really get it, but this was what I think I got:AJAX (in .NET) doesn’t take in account if the client has fewer capabilities (ie. is a mobile). For this you put in HIJAX to hijack the client request and respond with a response that fits.

With indirect AJAX there is layer (Troels’s version is called Outpost) injected between the client and the server. The server sends in this case not the full AJAX response back to Outpost, but the different between the original response and the new response in a Troels specific format. It could say something like: delete 1st divtag, insert a link instead. This message is abbreviated to only letters. The Outpost server would then return normal HTML.

This API sounds like lots of trouble to use, but it looked like it was only one line of code to enable the usage of Outpost.¨

Troels made Outpost and the API on top all by himself with no other helping hands. Just pretty f***ng amazing.

Links:

I had a talk with him later. He had to explain it once more to me, and I’m not sure I got it right.

Just before I left he also invited me to join LastFriday, which is geeks switching to meet in diffent companies. Agenda: No speakers, just chat in relaxed atmosphere.


Still in the geeky room Magnus Skou Andersen (FB) spoke about PodcastMachine.Magnus had made the project together with to other Mac geeks.

The goal of the project was to provide video and audio podcasts

  • in better quality than is seen most places today, but also in 4 different qualities
  • in all available file formats
  • supporting a whole lot of codecs
  • supporting instant preview (my word – I forgot what his was)

Of feeds there is both RSS and BitTorrent.

He recommended the mediaplayer Miro as one with most cool features. Guess I should download it.

They chose Amazon S1, 2 … to supply servers. This enables a download bandwith of 8mb/s and no problems with scalability. Price is around Dkr 800,- a month. Interesting to hear about that serving service.

Their service is better than DR and TV2, so now they just wants some customers.

Customers can choose to host their podcast in either US or EU.


Next on in Geeks was Peter Brodersen (FB), korruption.dk, ter.dk, findvej.dkThis was a very interesting an learning speech called Find structure of unstructured data.

Peter loves to geotag everything and finds data to tag from many diffent databases.

First he dicussed pros and cons between data from britannica.com and Wikipedia.org.

Wikipedia uses different templates. Apparently it is possible to use ones own template. I was thinking about my races on UltraRunningWikiMap.WetPaint.com . Maybe I should make an ultra race template?

Smart thing is that in (some of ?) those templates can add geotags. They can also be caterorised.

Samples of joining databses:

Rasmus  Nielsen – mitkbh.dk , also present, uses a service from Peter. The service shows the closest POI to a user specified point (or something like that).

Later I asked Peter where I could find database where I could get all airports with geo coordiates. Seemed like those kind of data is not public available.

Maybe I should check out how to get it from Wikipedia?

It was difficult to find a moment where he was not talking to anybody else. So when I finally got a chance then he still seemed to be a very helpfull guy. He leaves a kind of impression so you can’t help having a great respect for him. A kind of guru.


When I mentioned Rasmus I can just as well continue with him: Rasmus.Luckow(at)gmail.com (Nielsen), mitkbh.dk (FB) gave a speech in the Kængu room.He talked about being a developer for kbh.dk and developing his own mitkbh.dk. The interesting is that most developers seamed to have most fun with their sparetime projects. And Rasmus was no exception. All the new technologies he could think of he could play with in mitkbh. Lately one more developer has joined him and made the site mobile friendly. And together they have made an API, which makes the site mash-upable.

Keywords for mitkbh: AJAX, OpenID, v2.0 attr exchange, XFN, Microformats.dk

Kbh.dk wants to be an OpenSocial container. I guess this means it can pull the friends you have and events happening in LinkedIn and Plaxo.


Regarding OpenId then Henrik Biering, www.netamia.com gave a talk about single signon, which I missed. Kim told inspired about their product heste-nettet.dk , which both used OpenId and CardSpace.When I spoke with him earlier he was talking about some kind of connection he had with rfidsec.dk. They RFID chips are apparently more than just a chip to time individuals in races with. I thougt they only contained a unique id, but those that will be used in supermarkets have a number from which the kind of goods can be found, but also a number that identifies the thing, but not the serial no. You could then use that number to check for prices from other suppliers using the scanner in your mobile. Well lets see what happens.

Also Jesper Hvirring Henriksen (FB) of productive.dk is working with OpenID. He explained to me that a client goes through an OpenID server before it gets acces to an application server. The OpenID server speaks SAML with the app, which makes it much easier to code secure ID in the app. The OpenID server can require different kinds of security tokens – psw, digital key, HW key etc.

Later I learned on openid.net/get that I already have an OpenId here at WordPress. My OpenId is https://rasor.wordpress.com .

When you want to login to an app that uses OpenId and you want to use your OpenId then it should ask for the OpenId. I learned on claimid.com that it will start by asking for its own id, so you must look for a place where it asks for OpenId. Then ClaimId uses your existing OpenId to create yet another OpenId at their site and userinfo you typed the first place can be transferred to your account on the new place.

When I look at Jespers company, I see that he also is a ROR fan.


Michael Carøe Andersen, arbdesign.dk was a good example of one who has succeded in controlling his own life. Also he uses ROR.He looks quite young, but have anyhow only been selfemployed, lives in Prag with his Irish partner and created a shitload of nice apps in no time:

Really impressing. They have understood how to live the life. Looks like scheduling tools are becoming their specialty.


Casper Fabricius (FB) of Co+Høgh gave a speech on ROR, which I missed, unfortunately.  It was spoken of in high praisings. Didn’t get to talk to him.


Swedish Michael Widerkrantzgave a talk on IPV6, which I also missed, but after the show I got a short intro.He explained that networks can run with both V4 and V6 on the same time.

If you want to test if your PC can speak V6 then you can test against ip6.hack.org . And V4: hack.org.

There are also ways to send V6 traffic over V4 and more possibilities.

He also invited me to come to the 3 days hackaton.se programming party in Malmö. Sound like good fun.


Henriette Weber Andersen of Toothless Tiger (FB) (who took the initiative to the camp – and many other initiatives… she is certainly active) gave a speech about community marketing.She gave examples of how it could be difficult to filter away/turn down for the noicy spamming/info comming in from everywhere – I thought it was a bit of a paradox, when she spends so much time subscribing to all kinds of communities and services.

She was preaching that companies should enjoy the chaos on the net instead of limiting ways of doing marketing/communication/procedures to the old fasioned office ways. True.


Allan With Sørensen (FB) spoke in the Kængu room about how it is in the sparetime we have fun and are productive, like described in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.


Finally I spoke a little with Henrik Hammer Berthelsen (FB). Forgot about what, but he was a nice guy and like all the others – very active.The rest of the participants can be met here (FB).

Well – I guess we all picked up something – if not knowledge then new contacts.

Look forward to next year, where I’ll have to prepare something to show.

Hope to see you there.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. thx for the words! And yeah, I think we just talked about life in general :-D

Leave a Reply

